Training requirements for licensed child care providers are critical in promoting a minimum level of health, safety, supervision and quality in child care.
There are two types of training requirements – pre-service training requirements and on-going training requirements. This fact sheet shows training requirements for licensed child care providers that are set forth in current law. Pre-service Training Minnesota law requires licensed child care providers to take pre-service training before caring for children and/or licensure. Pre-service training ensures providers have the knowledge and skills necessary to provide a healthy and safe environment for the children in care. This is why many of the pre-service training requirements are focused on health and safety.
*source: Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS)
Bemidji Training Resources
Click the Links below for information regarding training requirements and resources:
Child Care programs at NTC offer caring faculty, quality classroom instruction and real-world mentorship from community partners.
- MN Statutes 245A.50 Family Child Care Training Requirements
Subd 3 First Aid. (a) When children are present in a family child care home governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445, at least one staff person must be present in the home who has been trained in first aid.
The first aid training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid instruction. First aid training may be less than eight hours and persons qualified to provide first aid training include individuals approved as first aid instructors. First aid training must be repeated every two years.
(b) A family child care provider is exempt from the first aid training requirements under this subdivision related to any substitute caregiver who provides less than 30 hours of care during any 12-month period.
(c) Video training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies the training requirement of this subdivision.
Subd. 4.Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) When children are present in a family child care home governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445, at least one caregiver must be present in the home who has been trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), including CPR techniques for infants and children, and in the treatment of obstructed airways.
The CPR training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide CPR instruction, must be repeated at least once every two years, and must be documented in the caregiver's records.
(b) A family child care provider is exempt from the CPR training requirement in this subdivision related to any substitute caregiver who provides less than 30 hours of care during any 12-month period.
(c) Persons providing CPR training must use CPR training that has been developed:
(1) by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross and incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction; or
(2) using nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training and incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction.
- American Heart Association
CPR Certification Resources Option One – AHA Website + Skills Test Students can complete the online portion of the American Heart Association course independently.
Visit the AHA homepage to register for the HeartCode BLS course.
This online course will take between 1-3 hours, and must be combined with a hands-on portion for skills practice and testing.
Locations that provide the skills portion of the class can be found on the AHA website.
- Heartsaver® First Aid CPR AED Online (Student Product For Blended Learning)
Local possibilities in the Bemidji area are listed below. Contact them directly for times, location, and prices:
- Colleen Notsch, LPN, Tender Hearts (Blackduck) (218)556-9621.
Colleen expects students to complete the on-line portion of the AHA course, bring the certificate and be ready to test.
- Lisa Papp-Richards 218-766-6822
and Marilyn Geller 218-209-8630
Facebook: CPR Training Bemidji -Frequent classes offered through the Facebook page.
- Tara Hokuf at: firstname.lastname@example.org
They would be purchasing this online training on their own and then they would need to bring payment for the hands-on portion of the testing with me ($60), plus their AHA e-card cost ($18.50 if Heartsaver Level).
Option Two – MNSCU Course Many technical/community colleges in the MnSCU system offer CPR courses that award the AHA BLS for Healthcare Providers certification upon successful completion of the course. Credits and course structure vary among campuses.
In the Bemidji area, Northwest Technical College offers a one-credit CPR Healthcare Provider course, listed as HPER 2200 on the class schedule. The course consists of online work through D2L Brightspace, plus one full day on campus. Acceptable Cards:
To receive full CPR certification from the American Red Cross, you must successfully complete an in-person or Simulation Learning course taught by Red Cross instructors.
Minnesota CPR classes and training opportunities are available in dozens of locations throughout the state, making it easy to find one that will suit your schedule. Learn more about our classes and find out how to get certified locally.
Currently no in person classes offered in Bemidji. There is an online class available-anytime- will also need to complete the “hands on- skill demonstration” piece as well.
Occasionally offers a First Aid/CPR Course